Building and Zoning

The Planning and Zoning commission oversees all building and regulation within the City.  Members are appointed for three year terms.  Jake Ebert is the chair of the commission, and can be reached by phone at 507.848.0956.


  • Jake Ebert, Chairman
  • Kirsten Bressler
  • Lynn Brownlee
  • Willard Beulow
  • Doug Schultz
  • Terry Bentele


Truman has adopted the Minnesota State Building Code as its rules for construction.  Building setback and zoning information can be obtained at City Hall.  All construction, modification, or demolition requires a building permit.  The permit application is available for download and completion.  (You will need Adobe’s free Acrobat Reader to view and complete this application.)  Requests for variance require a special form.  Due to the detailed instructions, this form is only available in person at City Hall.

For building inspection, contact Darold Nienhaus at 507.525.3266 to set up an appointment.